Let’s make it beige

October 10, 2010

Career counseling

One of my assignments is to scrutinize every job I’ve had and identify what I liked and disliked. It’s much easier to find the dislikes. So, here’s one of them:

A good idea comes forth. It’s exciting. Soon after, heaps of effort are spent seeking opinions and input and “feedback.”  And people feel obligated to give some tidbit of advice about how to make it better – so, often, they are really just trying not to be wrong. The usual effect is to take away everything that is unique, interesting, and compelling about the original idea. Making it beige. Making it the same as everything that came before.

This is stifling to me. I want to create something – something interesting and meaningful. I understand that often the beige route is the safe route. In order to enjoy successes, you must be willing to tolerate failures. I think I’m ready for that.

I jotted notes for this post one day last week when I was particularly frustrated. That evening, I read a tweet about the Subaru Mediocrity Campaign that perfectly and hilariously communicates my thoughts.

, , , ,

3 Comments on “Let’s make it beige”

  1. gretchen Says:

    “Quit being middle of the road and be yourself.” I’m writing that one down. Thanks Ross. You made my day 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ross Says:

    I am very proud of you and the road you are taking. I think you will find this journey will lead you in a positive life direction. It has helped me find strength in my own journey–back to me. Your intelligence and wit come through in your writing–traits that I appreciate from you. Quit being middle of the road and be yourself:)! Great writings keep it up–I am a fan!

    Reply

  3. thisisacrisis Says:

    Yeah. I hate mediocrity as well. If you’re going to do something, put all your effort into it and make it spectacular. If you do anything else, it’s not even worth it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

