Learning by sharing

October 30, 2010

Connection, Creativity

I have a new perspective on people who create something and share it out into the world. I see examples of it everywhere now. In my search for my right livelihood and my authentic self, I’m finding that sharing is actually an invaluable means of learning.

How do you learn about yourself? Introspection is an obvious way. But, I’m getting additional insights by putting more of myself out into the world. Put it out there and then see how it feels. It’s kind of a test of your theory. Once it’s out there, it’s out there. Now, how does it feel? Does it feel honest and real? Are you proud of your work?

I started this blog as a way to take action, to keep myself actively thinking about my career quest and hoping that someone else might learn from my experiences.  What has surprised me is how much writing this (knowing I have to click “publish”) makes me think about who I am, how I want to be, and what I want to contribute.

So I’m going to try to share myself in more ways. What better place to start than with necklaces! As a very hobbyish hobby, I make beaded necklaces. It’s a creative and sort of meditative activity that requires just enough focus. But, because I have been afraid to share my work, I keep all the pieces for myself. How many beads can one person wear?

In the last couple of weeks, I gave three away. Each was a great and different experience. Two were positive and one was neutral. I learned that I felt proud of my work regardless of the reaction of the recipient. Not only did I give freely but what I gave was a little piece of myself. This is me and here it is. And now I know myself just a little bit better.

, , , ,

4 Comments on “Learning by sharing”

  1. Nick Says:

    I have bruises and scars from most of my shared learning. Along the artistic side some successes, some not so good and then some just considered failures. Although, some will suggest that the failures offer more in learning than some of the successes. But the successes help insure a future and the failures somehow halt progress.
    Regarding the beading, go for it. If you find enjoyment in it, then that’s whats most important. If others like it and encourage you GREAT ! if not, so be it.
    A lampshade with beads ??
    Cheers,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

