Me, in 5 words

November 9, 2010

Experience

It is unsettling to me to be described in five words. It’s supposed to help me focus but what I feel is confined.  The philosophy of the StrengthsFinder 2.0 assessment is to identify and build upon your top 5 strengths. But I can’t stand not knowing what #6 is!

I bought the StrengthsFinder 2.0 book and took the online test a few days ago. It measures you on 34 themes and reports back your top 5 strengths.  Ok, that’s useful information, but what about the other 29?

My gut reaction is that I don’t need them to dumb it down for me. I get the concept. Focus on your strengths. Does that mean I’m not allowed to know anything else? Might it help me to know what to stay away from?

As you can tell, I’m not a huge fan of this tool. What I do like about it is its accessibility and speed.  That’s why I thought it was important to write about it. Anyone looking for a quick professional self-assessment can have one in a snap – no career consultant required. And the information certainly has value.

So I’m listing my personal Top 5 here for you all to see. (I have included a very brief description. The actual results include a full report and action plan.) I agree these are accurate descriptors of me, just a little too narrow.  But as my consultant said, I am in control of this feedback and I decide how to use it.

Input – like to collect and archive information

Intellection – characterized by intellectual activity

Empathy – sensing the feelings of others

Individualization – ability to help people who are different work together

Learner – desire to learn and improve

, , , ,

One Comment on “Me, in 5 words”

  1. Nick Says:

    Nice,it’s you. But the next 5 would be fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

