A molehill of evidence

March 15, 2011

Experience

In order to have new, creative ideas, we need to see things in new ways. Advice from many lifestyle design experts: Change your perspective by disrupting your routine.

Try something new. And don’t require  a mountain of evidence as to why the new thing is better than the old thing. Don’t always stay the course by default. Start with some low-risk areas. Just give it a try.

I’ve been buying the same Asics running shoes for about 5 years. When the old ones wore out, I would make a beeline for this year’s model and color – basically the exact same shoe. This time around, as I’m trying to stretch the life of the balding tread on my Asics, I found myself intrigued by the Nike Free Run. No idea why. Not much evidence. No experience. I know, I know, Nike’s just trying to capitalize on the barefoot running trend. And maybe they’re sucking me in. But it’s low-risk.

So I went with my gut. I bought a pair in black and hot pink! I’m sure they’re gonna make me run with newfound speed and grace. And my calves will become sculptural works of art. Ha! It does feel good to do something different. It’s a very small thing but a small change can be enough to change your perspective.

###

Image: Strep72

, ,

2 Comments on “A molehill of evidence”

  1. broadsideblog Says:

    So true.

    It can be as simple as trying a new radio station or food. Anything! The familiar is comforting…

    Reply

  2. Melody Says:

    Thanks for the reminder! Such a “little thing” but it’s so easy to get in a rut.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

