I’m not boring

April 3, 2011

Authenticity

Some days I’m just really tired of being rational. Of being calm and collected and doing the right thing. Why can’t I be one of those people who makes wild, off-the-cuff, groundless decisions? And then feels fine when things don’t work out? Because that’s just not who I am.

My work with my consultant is giving me an ever-clearer picture of the kind work I am most suited for. Several themes are emerging from my “skills stories” and I’ll share one with you.

Especially in my work, I am a planner. I don’t start a project until I have a pretty good idea of the process I will follow and what the outcome will be. My consultant noted that there are no signs of chaos or freneticness in my stories. I like to work at a steady pace and mitigate the impact of unexpected events with the support of the overall plan.

Sounds kinda boring, doesn’t it? But here’s the thing: Once you learn stuff about yourself, you don’t get to say, “Oh, well, I don’t want to be that. I’m gonna ignore that part.” That sort of ignoring, or worse, pretending to be the opposite, is how you end up in this spot – in a field that doesn’t suit you, in a job that is unfulfilling, in a work situation that makes you ill.

So I like to have a plan. But I’m not boring. I am a planner and I’m not boring. These two things can coexist. So there.

My plan-iness is a huge clue as to why I’m discontented at work. I’m assigned to a project that is riddled with chaos. There is no plan. I can’t see what the end looks like or where it is. Every time there is an unexpected event, we close our eyes, cross our fingers, and take some big crazy action with no evidence that it will make any impact at all.

Duh. Of course I am withering in this situation. There are people who don’t get freaked out and paralyzed by this, but I ain’t one of them.

Knowing and owning this about myself, along with the other themes I will identify, will be invaluable going forward. I will be able to evaluate future work based on the skills and values that are important for me to thrive. A great benefit to me and to the person for whom I’m producing work.

###

Image: MarkyBon

, , , , , ,

2 Comments on “I’m not boring”

  1. broadsideblog Says:

    This is fascinating. Sad, but you are learning.

    I wish I were not “creative” but I am, and I start to feel trapped and miserable in jobs (most of them) where the real work is to fit in and do it their way.

    Reply

  2. Nicholas Riley Says:

    Boring, never. Reliable, for sure. Fun, always !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

