Education or learning?

August 24, 2011

Career counseling

One piece of paper is good. Two are arguably better. But, three? I have to draw the line at three. Too many hoops.

I want a new career in the creative realm. I’ve done my research, interviewing folks working in these fields, and learned that I need training and experience to move into this new world.

I agree that I need to learn new stuff. I don’t agree that I need I need another degree. I investigated a few local graduate programs in design and I couldn’t bear the thought of jumping through the hoops and dealing with egos and arbitrary rules.

Degrees are important but I have two already. I have shown I can follow rules; I have demonstrated my stick-to-it-ive-ness; I’ve proven that I can be the last to leave the kegger and still show up for an eight o’clock class. That’s why they gave me the fancy pieces of paper. Well, that and the fact that the big checks cleared.

I don’t need another piece of paper. I need to learn what I need to learn and nothing else. I don’t need to be part of a weed-out process or be broken down and built back up. No more hoops.

So I’m designing my own education plan. (I have to give credit to Chris Guillebeau in The Art of Non-Conformity. I took inspiration from his “One-Year, Self-Directed, Alternative Graduate School Experience.”) My plan will fill the right gaps for me, be flexible and changeable, not make me do anything unnecessary, and be cheap!

My mix-n-match strategy makes use of community college, local university courses, web-based training, books, magazines, meetups, and mentors. Plus anything else I decide to include. And I can course-correct as I learn more about what I need to learn.

Of course, maximum freedom comes with total responsibility. No one will be checking on me. I will be accountable only to myself. I coast at my own peril.

Execution starts in the next few weeks. I’ll keep ya posted.

, , , , ,

4 Comments on “Education or learning?”

  1. mel levin Says:

    I think I have told you this but check out the local guild, lynda.com, and free elearning webinars…you go girl!
    r we gonna walk the sbk?

    Reply

  2. Denise Says:

    I admire people who are unafraid to play by their own rules. Be audacious!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

