I made the leap!

September 26, 2011

Career counseling

When you’ve really done the work, you know it and other people know it, too.

I officially gave my resignation to my employer! It might seem crazy to take the risk of leaving my corporate job right now. But I’ve done the work. I’m prepared for change. I can clearly articulate the lead-up, the method, the outcome, and the way forward. I have a plan. I have acted slowly and rationally. Slowly, is right – it’s taken a full year. But I feel good about working the process to get to this place.

Every time I tell my story and my plan to someone new, I still expect the “you’re crazy” look. But that’s not what’s happening at all. Everyone seems to get it. People are excited for me. They say, “Wow, it sounds like you really know what you want to do.” They tell me what a great position I’m in.

I would not be here if I had not hired a career consultant and followed her instructions and advice. Accountability was key. She gave me assignments and deadlines. I did things I thought were stupid just because she told me to, and invariably, I gained unexpected insights. She pushed me to do the hard, uncomfortable things: talking to people, asking one more question, investigating every avenue.

Because I’ve done the work, my confidence comes through. I’m getting support from so many sources. I don’t need approval but I do need a community. I’m grateful and excited to begin the next phase of my adventure!

, , ,

9 Comments on “I made the leap!”

  1. Nick Says:

    Just congratulations, you will be great !
    Cheers !

    Reply

  2. Leslie Says:

    I find it ironic that some poker site is advertised on the bottom of many of your posts. Some may say you’re taking a gamble – but I say you’re winning. And not in the psycho, Charlie Sheen way.

    I’m very proud of you. Can’t wait to hear the next chapter.

    Reply

  3. Michelle Gaston Says:

    Gretchen,

    I’ve been following your journey all year, and I just have to say I GET IT and I LOVE it! I am back in school making a major life change myself and many people I know have given me that “look”… but I’ve never been happier. Good for you! I hope you will keep blogging about your new adventures in working the way that you want to work. It’s inspiring to us all.

    Cheers to you,
    Michelle

    Reply

    • gretchen Says:

      Thank you, Michelle!! Your story has been inspirational to me, too! Now I’ll have more time to devote to my blog and to keeping up with my community of friends.

      Reply

  4. Mary Elizabeth Hirsch Says:

    Awesome. If you are looking for an office with french doors, I know where you can get one… really.

    Reply

    • gretchen Says:

      That would be so awesome. For the moment, I’m implementing austerity measures hoping to stretch my savings to the max. I’ll let you know how I go in my home office.

      Reply

  5. Melody Says:

    Today, you are my hero. That is all.

    (Well, that and congratulations – I’m elated for you!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

