Sabbatical: week 1

October 12, 2011

Career counseling

Time abounds! In a good way. I keep forgetting that I don’t have to go to work tomorrow. And then I remember and I feel great. I feel great.

I have been without a job for just over a week.  You might think it just feels like I’m on vacation. I thought it might feel like that. The big difference is that I know I’m not digging myself a hole by taking a vacation. There’s no unspoken consequence coming to pound me in a few days time.

So far, no freak-outs, no regrets. I have seen two former coworkers during the last week. Comments: “I’ve never seen you look so happy.” “You’re glowing.”

The reason (I think) for all this positivity: PLANNING. Everything is squared away. I made a calculated decision to leave my job. My finances are in order. I made a good ending with my former employer and am “totally rehirable” according to HR. And I have a learning and growth plan to productively use my time for the next year or so.

Along with my design and entrepreneurship classes, I officially committed, by physically signing the silly little contract included in the book, to working the 12-week creativity course in The Artist’s Way. I’ve also been doing excellent work at the gym!

Now, I fully realize I’m still on my solo honeymoon enjoying a cocktail of freedom and independence. But all I can do is report what I know today. Today I feel bold and empowered and in control of my own destiny. Today is splendid.

, , , ,

3 Comments on “Sabbatical: week 1”

  1. Melody Says:

    What lovely tidbits! And I’m with you – report what you know today. That’s what we’re supposed to do, right? Live in the moments as they come, because soon enough the others will be here. No need rushing it.

    Thrilled for you…

    Reply

  2. Cindy Says:

    It appears that your journalism degree didn’t need to much dusting off after all. Enjoyable read… it made me smile…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

