Opening doors with coffee and nagging

March 30, 2012

Connection

One of the reasons I write about Connection is my own struggle with it. I’m not naturally great at connecting with people.

I’ve always been independent, almost to a fault. I was raised to believe that total self-reliance is a virtue and anything less is weakness. And I won’t go into the whole “child of divorce,” you can’t count on anyone, blah, blah. You get the picture.

How do I think I’m gonna start a new career, maybe even a self-employment gig, sitting all alone at home in my virtuous independence??

Actually, I’m fine with connecting for someone else’s benefit: giving someone a reference, sharing my experience, bringing two people together. Where I struggle is on the asking side: asking for help, telling people what I have to offer, seeking a need I can fill.

It’s an interconnected world. This I know, intellectually. Doors are opened via recommendations and references, likes and shares, coffee and cocktails.

Luckily, I have a couple of people in my inner circle who are great at connecting and great at nagging! Tough love. Keeping me on track.

So I’m making myself do it. And finding it easier. And finding that it works.

, , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

